Gibraltar has 30,000 inhabitants of whom 26,000 are native Gibraltarians, the balance being made up mainly of British expatriates with an additional population of Moroccan, Spanish and other EU nationalities.


Gibraltar has a diverse history with Romans, Moors, Spanish and British safeguarding and taking custody of the Rock. In 1704, during the War of the Spanish Succession Gibraltar became a British possession. Its cession to Britain in perpetuity was confirmed by the terms of the Treaty of Utrecht in 1713.